Teacher Links

 

Top-five web-resources (subjective choice):

  1. Teach English — a British Council / BBC project
  2. English Tips  — materials available for download; absolutely free of charge
  3. Electronic Village Online — FREE online seminars on web-tools in teaching. If you are new to the field, start with  «Becoming a Web Head». Sessions can be joined every January.
  4. Scott Thornbury’s web-page and Teacher Development Blog
  5. www.teachertrainingvideos.com  These are free online tutorials and cover podcasts, blogs, html and much more from Russel Stannard

Feel free to check out Intro for Teachers pages.  Links for Students as well as Students’ Works might be of some interest if you want to see web-tools  in action. Some broad description of why you should start thinking about web-resources is here.

Aggregators

Bloglines: http://www.bloglines.com

Google Reader: http://reader.google.com

Grazr: http://grazr.com


Archive

Internet Archive: http://www.archive.org/


Blogs

Motime: http://www.motime.com

Blogger: http://blogspot.com

Edublogs: http://edublogs.org

WordPress: http://www.wordpress.com


Clocks

Clock Link : http://www.clocklink.com


File conversion

Zamzar : http://www.zamzar.com


Graphic creators

Gliffy: http://www.gliffy.com

Toonlet: http://toonlet.com

Make it beliefs comix: http://www.makebeliefscomix.com


Heavy online delivery

Transfer Big Files: http://www.transferbigfiles.com

You Send It: http://www.yousendit.com


Image Editors

East Thumbnails: http://www.fookes.com/ezthumbs/

Image Editor: http://www.imageeditor.net/

My Imager: http://www.myimager.com/


Learning Management Systems (LMS)

Moodle: http://www.moodle.org

Nicenet: http://www.nicenet.org


Maps

Frappr: http://www.frappr.com

Clustrmaps: http://clustrmaps.com


Online Virtual Offices

Google Documents: http://docs.google.com

Think Free: http://www.thinkfree.com

Zoho: http://www.zoho.com/virtual-office


Photo albums

Flickr: http://www.flickr.com

Picturetrail: http://www.picturetrail.com

Picasa: http://picasa.google.com/


Photo Stories

Bubble Share: http://www.bubbleshare.com

D Film moviemaker: http://www.dfilm.com/index_moviemaker.html

Photo Stories 3: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/digitalphotography/photostory/default.mspx

Zimmer Twins: http://www.zimmertwins.com


Podcasting blogs

English Podacast: http://englishpod.com/

Odeo: http://odeo.com

Podomatic: http://www.podomatic.com

Blogcheese: http://www.blogcheese.com


Recording

Audacity: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Powergramo: http://www.powergramo.com/

Callburner:http://www.callburner.com/


Screencasts — videos

Splashcast: http://www.splashcast.net

Toufee: www.toufee.com

Voice Thread: http://www.voicethread.com


Social bookmarks

Blinklist: http://www.blinklist.com

Del.icio.us http://del.icio.us


Shortening URLs

Tinyurl: http://www.tinyurl.com


Start Pages

Netvibes: http://www.netvibes.com

Protopage: http://www.protopage.com

Page Flakes: http://www.pageflakes.com


Text creators

Myspace glitter text generator: http://glitter-graphics.com/myspace/text_generator.php


Voice tools

Audacity: http://audacity.sourceforge.net (recorder — MP3 converter)

EVOCA: http://www.evoca.com

My Chingo: http://www.mychingo.com

Chinswing: http://www.chinswing.com

Gabmail: http://www.freegabmail.com

Handy Bits: http://www.handybits.com (to be downloaded)

Springdoo: http://www.springdoo.com

Vaestro: http://www.vaestro.com

Viewpoint: http://clear.msu.edu/viewpoint/index.php

Wimba Voice Mail: http://www.wimba.com/demos/voiceemail.php


Videos

Google videos: http://video.google.com

Ourmedia: http://www.ourmedia.org

Teacher Tube: http://www.teachertube.com/

Yahoo videos: http://video.yahoo.com

You Tube: http://www.youtube.com


Videos with captions

dotSub.com: http://dotsub.com


Video capture (YouTube)

Keep Vid: http://keepvid.com/

Vixy: http://vixy.net/


Virtual Learning Environments (VLEs)

Alado: http://www.alado.net/webheads

Learning Times: http://www.learningtimes.org

Tapped In: http://tappedin.org/tappedin

WiZiQ http://www.wiziq.com

Elluminate: http://www.elluminate.com/


VoIP tools

Skype: http://www.skype.com

Yahoo Messenger: http://messenger.yahoo.com


Wikis

Jot Spot: http://www.jot.com

Pbwiki: http://www.pbwiki.com

Wetpaint: http://www.wetpaint.com

Wikispaces: http://wikispaces.com